Back to All Events


  • Pence Gallery 212 D Street Davis, CA, 95616 United States (map)

The SLICE annual juried exhibit showcases art in all media that is conceptually thoughtful, technically skilled, and representative of contemporary trends in art.  This year, work by 34 artists was chosen by Rachel Clarke, Professor of New Media at California State University Sacramento. 

This year’s juror is Rachel Clarke. Clarke is an artist and professor of new media art at California State University, Sacramento, CA. Her work intertwines themes of nature, culture, and technology, combining physical and virtual modes of making. It involves video and animation, installation, augmented reality, and experimental 3D design. She has shown at ISEA Vancouver BC, Canada; Another Year in LA gallery, Los Angeles, CA; Balance/Unbalance at Arizona State University, AZ; Ars Electronica, Linz, Austria; Aggregate Space, Oakland, CA; WORK Detroit, MI; and Currents International Festival in Santa Fe, NM. Clarke serves on the Board of the New Media Caucus and is the founding editor of their international journal, Media-N.

It was an honor and a pleasure to judge Slice this year. I enjoyed the range of subjects and content that artists chose to explore: global politics, migration, feminism, ecology, and media culture, as well as traditional topics of landscape, portrait, and regional themes. The entries were diverse in both media and content, and my selection reflects that range, while showcasing what I considered to be exemplary. That said, each and every entry had its own unique merits, so whittling down to the final group was a challenge. There's a lot of exciting work in the show; it's a microcosm of the creativity of our region. It highlights artists from all walks of life, connected together by a desire to dedicate their time and energy to sustaining a creative practice.


Blair Martin Cahill                                                                                                                            Chris Allan
Sharon Allicotti
Timothy Armstrong
Richard Ashby
M. Mark Bauer
Daniel Brickman
Kristen Brown
Lisa Cooperman
Sayako Dairiki
Deziree Dizon Gary Epting
Margaret Jo Feldman
Shelley Gardner
Brent Gibb
Anne Gregory
Peter Hassen
Bill Heiderich
Liz Hickok
Mary King
Sarah Lee
Janet Lucroy Brett Melliar
Scott Woodward Meyers
Stephen Nachtigall
Kailyn Nelson
Steven Osterlund
Kevin Pride
Meganne Rosen
Colleen Sidey
Vanessa Stafford
Vivian Wan
Jamie Weinstein
Melissa Woodburn